Board of Health

NCHD is governed by an eight-member Board of Health whose function is to select and employ the public health director, adopt local health ordinances, rules and regulations, adopt the annual budget, and serve in an advisory role to the public health director.

Membership includes one commissioner from each of our six counties, as well as one community member from our two largest cities, Sterling and Fort Morgan. ​

Board Members:

NCHD's Board of Health reviewing previous meetings minutes at the September 2016 meeting. 

Byron Pelton, , President
Logan County Commissioner
Tony Wells, Vice President
Washington County Commissioner​
Terry Hofmeister, Secretary
Phillips County Commissioner​
Mark Arndt
Morgan County Commissioner
Robin Wiley
Yuma County Commissioner​
Mark Turner
Sedgwick County Commissioner 
Samantha Mahaffey
Sterling Representative ​
Laura Teague
Fort Morgan Representative

2021  Board of Health Meeting Dates

Most meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 1 p.m. at NCHD's district headquarters, 700 Columbine St. Sterling. 

January 27, 2021 - VIRTUAL

February 24, 2021- VIRTUAL

March 24, 2021 - VIRTUAL

April 28, 2021- HYBRID

May 26, 2021- HYBRID

June 23, 2021- HYBRID

July- No Meeting

August 25, 2021- HYBRID

September 22, 2021- HYBRID

October 27, 2021- HYBRID

November - No Meeting

December 8, 2021- HYBRID

2021  Special Board of Health Meeting Dates

April 16, 2021 - VIRTUAL

Beginning April 28, 2021, Board meetings will be HYBRID allowing for in-person attendance or via Zoom.
If you are interested in joining a HYBRID or VIRTUAL Board meeting via Zoom, please contact Michelle Pemberton by email at or
call 970-522-3741 ext. 1239